Pieces of the Black Soul

You were fifty hundred thousand shades of black… Still there are a few pieces of grey, some lighter than that… Even white…. Save them… Preserve them…

You stood tall, above everyone, in my heart… Solid and permanent. Unchanging and unwavering… In the five elements that made up the life in me…. You became a partner, friend, ally, companion… And more… 
Then you became greedy… Started claiming more.. Challenged time amd patience, traditions amd virtues… Then did what you did… Said what you said… Heard what was never said… Understood what was never meant… 

The deity I worshipped turned out to be just souless stone. I watched the grand image taint… corrode… erode… I watched the cracks run down your face… Heart and spine… I saw the loose pieces fall off… Chip off… Wither and slither… I saw the slime slick… Lick amd seep off you… 

I staggered… Unable to watch anymore. The life size idol, made up of the hardest and strongest rock, exploded… splintered and disintegrated. 

Ruins… And nothing more is left between us. Yet, I see beauty in them. I don’t know if its the relief of knowing the ultimate truth or was there a little something good in you afterall… 

Not every bit of you is black. For that, my Lord, I am glad… Hold them tight… Will you? Save them… will you? 

Save a piece of yourself… 

One thought on “Pieces of the Black Soul

Leave a Reply

