I Need a Sheikh

arab2

It’s official. I want to fall in love with a Sheikh. Not just any Sheikh, but one who is a Prince from the Arabian nights, powerful, playful, who is more spectacular than the most divine creations of God, chiseled, muscled, polished, the one whose eyes possess a mischievous gleam, who is romantic and considerate and with an awesome sense of humor. And oh yeah… Handsome and God-like, passionate and has a heart larger than all the wild sand-seas put together. And rich, must definitely own a palace and a private jet, to say the least. And of course, he must whisper goosebumps-raising, arousing, cooing and wooing love words in Arabic.

Think it is too much? But every one of the heroines of Olivia Gates has a Sheikh who is exactly all this and more. Can you blame me if I won’t settle for anything less?

I have read many of her books and I absolutely love all her heroes. Be it Mohab Aal Ghaneem, Rashid Aal Munsoori, Jalal Aal Shalaan, Haidar Aal Shalaan, Amjad Aal Shalaan, Harres Aal Shalaan, Sheikh Shaheen Aal Shalaan , Kamal Aal Masood  Shehab Aal Masood, Farooq Aal Masood and Sheikh Malek Aal Hamdaan. There are a few other hunks who are equally good, but they are not Sheikhs. I want Sheikh/s.

Yes, there is an obvious pattern in her books and always a pregnancy before or during the affair or after the final union and an extremely over-the-board type of misunderstanding. All the females are lacking, insecure and apparently selfless. But it’s the heroes that steal the show. They are the ones always hurt and they are the ones who are struggling in the power games. And yet, miraculously, breathtakingly manages to love and care and forgive and endure. They are the ones who are deprived and have to move heaven and earth to get the love from their ladies. And I love them. Every single one of them. I love the vulnerability in the force of nature type of men, how love becomes their weakness and strength… The more twisted and rough and unapproachable and dark the Sheikh, the more I like them.

I love the big chunks of words that Gates uses to describe all those feelings. I never realized that feelings could feel like this. Mind boggling descriptions. I love the emotions that flow so easily from the characters. I absolutely love the intensity and the depth of each feeling she writes about. I have been so moved, there are conversations that even made me cry. I myself could not believe that I wept after reading an adult romance story! Sheesh… but yes I did. That constricting feeling inside the chest, the pain, the love, the hurt, the strength, resolution, stubbornness, I don’t know… everything. It was like I was transported into those pages, living those lives, loved by those irreplaceable men… I feel it all. I laugh whole-heartedly at the humor and feel shy sometimes as well. I love the foggy, misty, sweaty passion. The books make me hungry for that kind of love and emotions. It gives a hangover and the only cure is to read another story and welcome another Sheikh into my heart.

There might be better heroes and better books and authors. I am yet to find them and devour them. But right now, I am spoiled rotten with these indulging Sheikhs and their indomitable persona.

You know what; it is because of these books that stupid romantics like me have so high expectations in love.

The men I meet in my real life have never even once flipped through the pages of a magazine or novel… Forget reading such cheesy romantic sexy stories…

Sigh… I really need a Sheikh… I  mean… a shake and crash land into harsh reality or I will be lost in the devastating sandstorm of imagination in the desert romance.

3 thoughts on “I Need a Sheikh

  1. I live in the land of shieks and princes and haha I think they are in no way the same as the descriptions you’ve shared. Haha They’re men in general. With weaknesses and strengths here in there. Be it a shiekh or an ordinary man, may you find the one that completes you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha… It is again one of the impossible wants of a romantic heart… When I was reading historic novels placed in 18th century London, I wanted a Duke. 😂😂😂
      But you are right… Sheikh, Duke, King, Prince… They are men in general. All one needs is a good heart. The rest will follow…

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

